Tuesday, May 9, 2017

Buns by Alice Clayton book review

So, I can see where this story may have been inspired by some hotel renovations shows (in a good way). Clara, the woman in charge of turning hotels around is a total bad ass and really good at her job.  She has grand visions of bring back the Bryant Mountain Resort's former glory with a more modern twist.  When Archie meets her, it is clear that he does not want Clara meddling in his hotel business.  He likes to believe that change will be bad and that doing things as they have always done is, is perfectly fine.  Part of their tension is sexual tension, but part of it is that they are hard workers.

I love how the author describes the area surrounding the hotel.  The location of the story is Bailey Falls, New York. I've never been anywhere like that, so the imagery was great in Clayton's story.  It definitely sounded like a place I would like to go visit.  I also love that Clara was into keeping the old charm of this historic mountain resort.  I feel that way in real life.  Once Clara and Archie started to get to know each other, it was just a matter of time before they hooked up.  Both their back stories are interesting and are playing out as Clara and Archie get to know each other.  I like that both of them were totally professional when they needed to be, but we got a glimpse behind the scenes.  The sex scenes are really well written.  Archie is so romantic *swoon*.  Their chemistry is scorching and it just adds to an overall great book.  This is a great choice for a fun read....preferably relaxing somewhere on the beach.  Or maybe at a luxurious hotel.
There is way more to this story than the title would imply.  This is my first book that I have read by Alice Clayton,  so maybe it's just the way her titles go.  I would say this book is perfect for fans of Jill Shalvis or Erin Nicholas.  I love this tweet from the author. Archie is now my official book boyfriend: https://twitter.com/alice_clayton/status/861978317636947969